Providence County, Rhode Island Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Rhode Island
Providence County

Guide to Providence County, Rhode Island ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Providence County, Rhode Island
Map
Map of Rhode Island highlighting Providence County
Location in the state of Rhode Island
Facts
Founded June 16, 1729
County Seat
Courthouse


County Courthouse

Providence County Courthouse
250 Benefit Street
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: 401.277.671

Probate Judge has probate records
Family Court has divorce records;
Municipal Court has court records;
Recorder Deeds has land records;
Town and City Clerks have birth, marriage and death records

(22 towns in Providence Co) Towns Organized Before 1800; Cranston 1754, Cumberland 1746-7, Foster 1781, Gloucester 1730-1, Johnston 1759, North Providence 1765, Providence 1636, Scituate 1730-1, Smithfield 1730-1

There is no county government. The government is located at town and state levels.

Quick Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Providence County, Rhode Island

Named for the Divine Providence.

16 June 1729: Renamed Providence County. [1]

Parent County

1703: Formed as Providence Plantations County.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Rhode Island County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Rhode Island County Boundary Maps" (1643-1963) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities


Resources

Archives and Libraries

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
RIGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
RIGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
RIInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Rhode Island Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Providence County, Rhode Island Genealogy census records online, see: Rhode Island Census.

Church History and Records (Rural)

Court

Directories

  • 1895-1935 - Providence House Directories at Providence City Archives website - free. 1895, 1896, 1897, 1898, 1899, 1900, 1901, 1903, 1905, 1907, 1909, 1911, 1913, 1915, 1917, 1919-1920, 1921-1922, 1923-1924, 1925-1926, 1927-1928, 1929-1930, 1931-1932, 1933-1934, 1935.

Ethnic, Religious and Political Groups

Cottrol, Robert J. The Afro-Yankees : Providence's Black Community in the Antebellum Era - Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press 1982. (Contributions in Afro-American and African Studies, 0069-9624; no. 68) FHL 974.52 F2c

Land

History

Maps

Riprovidence.jpg

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

  • 1778-1784, 1799-1828 - The Providence Gazette at Google News - free.
  • 1779-1781 - The American Journal and General Advertiser at Google News - free.
  • 1785-1795 - The Providence Gazette and Country Journal at Google News - free.
  • 1799-1801 - The Providence Journal at Google News - free.

Probate

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Rhode Island Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Rhode Island Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Libraries

  • Rhode Island State Library,
    State House, 2nd floor,
    Providence, RI 02903
    Phone: (401) 222-2473
  • Rhode Island Historical Society Library,
    121 Hope Street,
    Providence, RI 02906
    TEL: (401) 273-8107
  • East Greenwich Free Library,
    82 Pierce Street East,
    Greenwich, RI 02818
  • Lincoln Public Library,
    Old River Road,
    Lincoln, RI 02865,
    Phone: (401) 333-2422
  • Louttit Memorial Library,
    274 Victory Highway,
    West Greenwich, RI 02817
    Phone: (401) 397-3434
  • Robert H Champlin Library,
    1043 Main Street,
    West Warwick, RI 02893,
    Phone: (401) 828-3750
  • Warwick Public Library,
    600 Sandy Lane,
    Warwick, RI 02886




Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].