Pyrton, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Pyrton, Oxfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Oxfordshire
Oxfordshire Parishes
Pyrton


Guide to Pyrton, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Pyrton, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pirton
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Henley
Registration District Henley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1568
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aston
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

PIRTON, a village, a parish, and a hundred, in Oxford. The village stands near the Chiltern hills, 1 mile N of Watlington, and 7 N E of Watlingford r. station; and was anciently called Peritone. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Pyrton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FAMR = Family Relatives - (£)[2]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free[3]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
PYRTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FAMR
1568-1836

FSBOOK
1568-1836

OFHS 1597-1887
1568-1952
1570-1935
PALL
1836

TGEN 1563-1812
1563-1812
1563-1812


Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. W.P.W. Phillimore, Oxfordshire Parish Registers, Volume 1 (London: Phillimore and Co., 1907). Digitised by Family Relatives - (£).
  3. W.P.W. Phillimore, Oxfordshire Parish Registers, Volume 1 (London: Phillimore and Co., 1907). Digitised by FamilySearch Books - free.
  4. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.