Quarndon, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Quarndon, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Quarndon, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Quarndon, Derbyshire
Quarndon St Paul Derbyshire.jpg
Quarndon St Paul Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Belper
Registration District Belper
Records begin
Parish registers: 1755
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Duffield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

QUARNDON, or Quorndon, a parish, in the union of Belper, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 3 miles (N. N. W.) from Derby. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Quarndon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Quarndon St Paul (1772) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1772-1880
  NONE
1755-1911
  NONE
1821-1882
  NONE

For many Quarndon entries in the period 1712-1802 refer to the records of Derby St Alkmund, Derbyshire

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1813-1835 Mar 1813-1833 Burials 1813-1835

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241294.


Poor Law Unions

Belper Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Quarndon on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 623-627. Date accessed: 24 May 2013