Quay County, New Mexico Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Quay County, New Mexico)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png New Mexico Gotoarrow.png Quay County

Guide to Quay County, New Mexico ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


Quay County, New Mexico
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Mexico
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
Founded February 28, 1903
County Seat Hettinger
Address Quay County Courthouse
300 S 3rd St; PO Box 1225
Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone: 505.461.0510
Quay County Website


County Information

Quay County, New Mexico Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1893 1910 1903 1891

County Courthouse

Quay County Courthouse
300 S 3rd St; PO Box 1225;
Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone: 505.461.0510 

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1893, probate records, military records from 1945; District Court Clerk has divorce and court records.[1]


Parent County

  • Up until 1821New Spain controlled land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
  • From 1821 until 1846Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City. Starting in 1846 United States forces occupied New Mexico during the Mexican-American War.
  • 1848 -  Land that became Quay County formally became a part of the United States when the Mexican-American War ended with ratification of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.

1903--Quay County was created 28 February 1903 from Guadalupe and Union counties.[1]


Formed in 1903 from part of Guadalupe County. The County was named for Pennsylvania senator Matthew Quay, who supported New Mexican statehood.

The county seat is Tucumcari.[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Populated Places [3]

  • Tucumcari (county seat)
  • House
  • Logan
  • San Jon
Census-designated place
  • Nara Visa
Other communities
  • Bard
  • Forrest
  • Glenrio
  • McAlister
  • Montoya
  • Quay
  • Wheatland

Neighboring Counties



Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NMGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NMGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
NM Cemetery Project
NM Interment
Billion Graves
See New Mexico Cemeteries for more information.
Search by Cemetery Name:

          Allen Cemetery, Anniston Cemetery, Apodaca Cemetery, Beevers Cemetery, Boot Hill Cemetery, Britt Cemetery, Brown Cemetery, Brown Cemetery, Browning Cemetery. Cherokee Valley Cemetery, Dunns Cemetery, Endee Cemetery, Fife Family Ranch Cemetery, Gerhardt Cemetery, Grady Cemetery, Hanley Cemetery, Hassell Cemetery, House Cemetery, House Cemetery, Hudson Cemetery, Ima Cemetery, Logan Cemetery, Lone Mesa Cemetery, McAlister Cemetery, Menninite Church Cemetery, Montoya Cemetery, Nara Vista Cemetery, Newhome Cemetery, Obar Cemetery, Plains Cemetery, Pleasant Valley Cemetery, Prater Cemetery, Puerto Cemetery, Quay Cemetery, Rana Cemetery, Rowe Cemetery, San Jon Cemetery, Sunnyside Cemetery, Tucumcari Memorial Park, West Cemetery, Wheatland Cemetery.

Search by Cemetery location:

          Allen, Forrest, Hassell, House, Logan, McAlister, Montoya, Nara Vista, Obar, Ragland, San Jon, Tucumcari, Wheatland.


Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 14,912
1920 10,444 −30.0%
1930 10,828 3.7%
1940 12,111 11.8%
1950 13,971 15.4%
1960 12,279 −12.1%
1970 10,903 −11.2%
1980 10,577 −3.0%
1990 10,823 2.3%
2000 10,155 −6.2%
2010 9,041 −11.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.


Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Quay County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.




Revolutionary War
Civil War
World War I
World War II



Online Probate Records

Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.

See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.

The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.


New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.

Vital Records


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Tucumcari New Mexico Family History Center

Web Sites


  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Quay County, New Mexico page 474, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/newmex/quay/ accessed 09/29/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quay_County,_New_Mexico#Communities