Røldal, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Røldal, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Røldal clerical district) contains the parish registers for Røldal parish. It was separated from Suldal clerical district in Rogaland county in 1848. The earlier records were burned in 1778. Records available from 1780-1917.
Digital images for the parish registers for Røldal parish are available at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1664-1666 Census Fogdens og sorenskriverens manntall Røldal is listed in Hardanger fogderi. This census was taken by the local civil authorities. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library Film 122980 Item 1 and online at Digitalarkivet as scanned images.
- 1664-1666 Census Sogneprestenes manntall This census was taken by the local parish priests. Ryfylke prosti in Rogaland county included Suldal clerical district with Suldal, Saude and Røldal parishes. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library Film 122971 Item 2 and online at Digitalarkivet as scanned images and as a database.
- 1701 Census Røldal clerical district. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library Film 122983 Item 1 and online at Digitalarkivet as Manntal 1701 for Søndre Bergenhus amt.
- 1801 Census Suldal clerical district in Rogaland County included Suldal, Sauda and Røldal parishes. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library Film 123001 Item 2 and online at Digitalarkivet as Manntal 1801-telling for 1134 Saledahl.
- 1865 Census Røldal clerical district. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library Film 123069 Item 3 and online at Digitalarkivet as 1865-telling for 1229 Røldal.
- 1875 Census Røldal clerical district. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library Film 273466.
- 1900 Census Røldal clerical district. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library Film 274323 and online at Digitalarkivet as 1900-telling for 1229 Røldal.
- 1910 Census The 1910 census search at Digitalarkivet
- The census of 1865, 1875 (partial), 1900 and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center.
A history of Røldal in Hordaland county and a genealoy of the people and their farms.
Dalen, Knut and Dalen, Alma, "Røldal bygdebok," Røldal: Utgjeven av Røldal kommune, 
948.32/R1 H2d FHL INTL Book
5 Berge nedre 25 Botnen nedre 24 Botnen øvre 22 Bratteig 1 Ekkje 1 Fjetland 16 Gjuvet 8 Gryting 21 Grytøie 7 Grøve 1 Haare 12 Hagen ytre 13 Hagen østre 2 Hamre 9 Hauge 27 Hegreland 29 Holmene 8 Kongsluten 1 Legaard 13 Lien 18 Lilleteig 26 Lone 1 Løbergshaugen 19 Midhus 13 Midtlægret 30 Nupshallene og Staavasviken 23 Odland 20 Præstegaarden 11 Rabbe 8 Runnene 28 Selland 15 Storehovden 3 Sæm 4 Tofte 17 Tveite 14 Tverlien 10 Øvreland
Ringdahl, Enid Johnson: The family of Mikkel amd Asgjer Lono.
Contents: pt. 1. The Lono family -- pt. 2. The Hegerland family
Albert Mikkelson Lono (1849-1934) was the third child of Mikkel and Asgjer Lono. Albert married Ingrid Hegerland in 1877, and in 1893 the family immigrated from Norway to land near Nunda, South Dakota. Descendants and relatives lived in South Dakota, North Dakota, Minnesota, Montana, Washington, Illinois, New Jersey and elsewhere. Includes Norwegian ancestry to the early 1500s for the immigrant couple, chiefly in Røldah, Hordaland County, and in Suldah and Sauda (and elsewhere) in Rogaland County, Norway.
Includes Lone as a variant spelling of Lono.
Includes Chandler, Gregerson, Gunderson, Hellerslien, Lien, Severson, Skorpe and related families.FHL 929.273 L868
Probate records for the years 1666-1795 are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial districts in Rogaland county.
For 1786-1848 the records are in the RyfylkeRogaland County judicial district.
1848-1881: Probate records are found in Hardanger og Voss judicial district.