Rüti parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Rüti parish

Guide to Rüti parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Rüti

Berghof
Breitenhof
Buchrain
Bühl
Frohberg
Frohwies
Gmeindrüti
Goldbach
Hofacker
Hosberg
Hüllistein
Kies

Kühweid
Langacker
Laufenbach
Matte
Mooshalde
Neuhaus
Nuehof
Neu-York
Niggital
Ober-Buch
Ober-Fägswil
Ober-Haltberg

Ober-Moos
Oberwies
Pilgerhof
Pilgersteg
Platten
Riedern
Rosenberg
Rüti
Rütiwald
Schlaad
Schürwies
Sonnenberg

Sonnenhof-Täusi
Steinacker
Tannenberg
Trümmlen
Unter-Fägswil
Unter-Moos
Wacht
Waldau
Weid
Weier
Weierbach
Würzhalde

Surrounding Parishes

Bubikon
Dürnten
Eschenbach (Sankt Gallen)
Jona (Sankt Gallen)
Wald

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Rüti:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 3 540
1637 1185142 1 231
1640 1185144 2 445
1643 1185146 2 491
1646 1185148 1 827
1649 1185149 2 61
1650 1185150 2 617
1657 1185179 1 65
1663 1185179 2 339
1670 1185154 1 847
1678 1185158 1 71
1682 1185159 2 747
1690 1185163 2 341
1700 1185167 1 731
1710 1185172 1 797
1722 1185175 2 337

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Rüti families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Rüti belongs to the Rüti civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt
Breitenhofstrasse 30
CH-8630 Rüti

Tel: +41 55 251 33 40

email: zivilstandsamt@rueti.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Rüti prior to 1875:

Aeschmann
Briner
Dietrich
Egli
Eschmann
Gonzenbach (1832, from
    Amriswil)
Honegger
Hotz (1825, from Dürnten)
Hürlimann (1835, from Wald)

Kägi
Kaspar
Kunz
Lier
Müller
Peter
Pfister
Pfister (1832, from Bubikon)
Pfister (1834, from Männedorf)

Rami ( from Fribourg)
Reese (1823, from Germany)
Rösli (1874, from Seen)
Rüegg
Ruf
Schmid
Vontobel
Weber
Wettstein

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland