Radipole, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Radipole, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes Gotoarrow.png Radipole

Guide to Radipole, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Radipole, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Culliford-Tree
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Weymouth
Registration District Weymouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1813
Bishop's Transcripts: 1775
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dorchester
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

RADIPOLE (St. Mary), a village and a parish in Weymouth district, Dorset. The village stands on the river Wey, at the inlet to Weymouth harbour, 2 miles N N W of Weymouth railway station. There are chapels for Independents and Roman Catholics.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241339.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 09 July 2103.