Radnorshire, Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Radnorshire, Wales)
Jump to: navigation, search

Wales Gotoarrow.png Radnorshire

Wales Wiki Topics
Y ddraig goch.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wales Background
Local Research Resources


Guide to Radnorshire, Wales ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

{{{link}}}

Historic Radnorshire

Radnor

Radnorshire, (Welsh: Sir Faesyfed or Maesyfed) was one of thirteen historic counties of Wales.

It was bounded to the north by Montgomeryshire, to the south by Breconshire, to the west by Cardiganshire and to the east by the English counties of Shropshire and Herefordshire

The county was created following the Act of Union of 1535, between Wales and England. The county town was initially New Radnor (Welsh: Maesyfed) but this was later replaced by Presteigne (Welsh: Llanandras). The administrative county of Radnorshire, with an elected county council, was created in 1889 by the Local Government Act 1888. The county was governed by an elected county council, who took over the functions of the Quarter Sessions courts. Llandrindod Wells (Welsh: Llandrindod) became the new county town. The county was mainly rural and agricultural and has always been the poorest in Wales.

Motto: Ewch yn Uwch (English: Higher and Higher)

Chapman Code: RAD

1974-1996 Powys

Powys

Under the Local Government Act 1972, the county and administrative county of Radnorshire were abolished, for both local government and ceremonial purposes, on April 1, 1974. Radnorshire became a district of the newly formed county of Powys. The population at that time was about 19,000.

Modern Powys

Powys

The situation remained unchanged following further local government reorganisation in 1996.

Parishes

  • See a list of the parishes in Radnorshire with links to their pages.
  • Interactive map of Radnorshire Parishes.

Topics

Websites