Rafz parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Rafz parish

Guide to Rafz parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Rafz

Bahnhof
Feldhof
Obere Mühle
Rafz

Ried
Riedhalde
Schlauchenberg

Solgen
Sonnenberg
Steigwies

Surrounding Parishes

Buchberg (Schaffhausen)
Dettighofen (Baden, Germany)
Eglisau
Jestetten (Baden, Germany)
Lottstetten (Baden, Germany)
Rüdlingen (Schaffhausen)
Wil

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Rafz:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185140 1 449
1637 1185142 2 431
1640 1185144 1 101
1643 1185147 1 63
1647 1185148 2 329
1650 1185150 2 707
1663 1185179 2 483
1671 1185154 2 815
1684 1185160 1 133
1690 1185162 2 629
1700 1185168 1 497
1711 1185172 2 127
1725 1185176 2 719
1762 1185176 2 647

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Rafz families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Rafz prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland