Raithby with Hallington, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Raithby with Hallington, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Raithby with Hallington, Lincolnshire|
Raithby St Peter Lincolnshire
|Poor Law Union||Louth|
|Parish registers: 1654; Separate registers exist for Hallington beginning 1654|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561|
|Rural Deanery||Louthesk and Ludborough|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
RAITHBY-CUM-MALTBY , a parish in Louth district, Lincoln; 2½ miles S W of Louth r. station. Post-town, Louth.
Raithby with Hallington or Raithby cum Maltby is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Lincolnshire, created in 1770 from Raithby cum Maltby Ancient Parish and Hallington Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Maltby and Hallington.
The Knights Templar had a preceptory in Maltby; the parish church of St Peter in part dates from 1390 but was rebuilt in 1839 and restored in 1873.
A Wesleyan Methodist chapel is also located in this parish.
The village of Raithby is not unique within the county and diocese do not confuse with Raithby, Lincolnshire or Raithby by Spilsby and parish of Holy Trinity.
This parish was in the Louth sub-district of Louth registration district.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: email@example.com The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Raithby (Louth) Par 1 will identify available images.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438767.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted. Date accessed: 03 September 2013.