Ramsey, Huntingdonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ramsey, Huntingdonshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Huntingdonshire
Huntingdonshire Parishes
Ramsey
Ramsey, Huntingdonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hurstingstone
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union Huntingdon
Registration District Huntingdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery St Ives
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office
Guide to Ramsey, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Ramsey, is a town a parish and a sub-district, in the district of Huntingdon, Huntingdonshire, 10 miles N N E of Huntingdon. There are places of worship for, Baptist, Particular Baptist, Primitive Methodist, Society of Friends, and Wesleyan Methodist.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ramsey, Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (findmypast) - (£)[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
RAMSEY PARISH (1559) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1559-1837

FREG None None 1559-1837 None None None
HUNT

1559-1900
JOIN

1559-1837


NBI

1559-1900
PALL
1790-1837

TGEN
1559-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ramsey on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2. Date accessed: 20 August 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  4. Huntingdonshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 April 2014.
  5. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 18 April 2014.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.