Randesund, Vest-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Randesund, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngVest-Agder County Gotoarrow.pngRandesund

Guide to Randesund, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

See Oddernes clerical district.

Census Records

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farm owners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

The 1801 census (b. 34) for Oddernes clerical district includes Oddernes and Randesund parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

Database at Digitalarkivet.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

73 Aannevig 67 Beinestad 65 Berhus 72 Bjørkestøl 78 Bjørnestad 83 Buene 88 Buhaven 77 Dolsvaag 71 Drange 96 Dvergsnes 52 Dvergsøen 74 Eftevaag 95 Fidje 79 Frikstad 75 Grønevold 63 Haanes 73 Heien 94 Herøen 92 Holte 90 Kirkevigen 57 Kjellevigen 97 Kosvig 81 Kvarenes 60 Liene 70 Lykkedrang 54 Lyngøen 88 Randøen 59 Rodenes 76 Romstøl 91 Roshave 55 Salbustad 93 Sillevigen 53 Sjursøen 63 Slaggdalen 71 Snemyren 82 Sodefed 69 Sommerro 85 Stangenes 80 Stidalen 89 Stokken 61 Strømme ytre 62 Strømme øvre 80 Støle 68 Sukkestøl 58 Søm 96 Tangen 66 Timenes nedre 59 Torsvigen 84 Torsøen 86 Trollenes 92 Vabuen 87 Vadvigen 72 Vatne 73 Vatnedalen 63 Vigvold 90 Vraanes


The farm names listed in Tveite's Randesund bygedebok Gard og Ætt in 1981 are as follows:

Anstein-bruket, Aslak-bruket,    Bakken, Bakkestykket, Beinestad, Berhus, Bermestrand, Bertor-bruket, Bjelkeviga, Bjørevig, Bjørkestøl, Bjørndalen, Bjørnestad, Blåmyra, Bordalen, Brattholmen, Brunevollen, Brønnstykket, Buane, Buane Vestre, Bue-bruket, Buhaven, Bukkevold, Børufsvåg,    Christen-bruket, Cort-bruket,    Dolsvåg, Drang, Drevdalen, Dridalen, Dvergsnes, Dvergsnestangen, Dvergsøya,    Eftevåg, Egeli, Egelunden, Eikeli, Eilev-bruket, Eivind-bruket, Elling-bruket,    Fidje, Fiskebudalen, Fjelly, Fladstrand, Framnes, Fredheim, Frigstad, Frigstad Lille, Frigstad Nedre, Frigstad Store,    Glitre, Grannestrid, Grøndalen, Grønnevoll, Gunnar-bruket, Gunnbjørn-bruket, Gunnhild-bruket, Gunnstein-bruket,    Hans-bruket, Haven, Heia, Herøya, Hestedalen, Holmen, Holte, Hoskuldbruket, Huset, Hånes, Hånes Nedre, Hånes Øvre,    Indre Kalvøya, Inger-bruket, Ingrid-bruket,    Jens-bruket, Jon-bruket, Jørenstykket,    Kalvøya Indre, Kirkeviga, Kittel-bruket, Kjelleviga, Kjelsviga, Kjeltringholmen, Kjærrene, Kjønna, Kjønnåsen, Kleivmyra, Knarrevig, Knut bruket, Kongshavn, Korshavn, Korsvig, Kosvig Nedre, Kosvig Vestre, Kristen-bruket, Kvarenes,    Laurits Pedersen, Leif-bruket, Leirviken, Liane, Liansmyra, Lille Frigstad, Lindehaven, Lykkedrang, Lyngøya, Lyngøysund,    Mari-bruket, Moseid bruket, Myrane,    Nedre Frigstad, Nedre Hånes, Nedre Kosvig, Nedre Rosshag, Nedre Skogmyr, Nedre Timenes, Nedregarden, Neset, Niemand-bruket, Nils-bruket, Nordre Valsvik, Nordstrand, Nordøya, Nygård, Nyplass,    Oddbør-bruket, Ola-bruket, Omund-bruket, Osmund-bruket,    Pedresen Laurits, Peleborgen, Plommehaven, Poddestøl, Prestenga,    Rabbesviga, Ramsdalen, Ramshola, Randøyane, Revsundet, Ringene, Rodenes, Romstøl, Rona, Rosenlund, Rosshag, Rosshag Nedre, Rørvig,    Sagtomta, Salbustad, Sameieskogen, Sandvannsdalen, Silleviga, Sillevikstykket, Sjursøya, Skogmyr Nedre, Slaggdalen, Sletta, Snømyr, Sodefed, Sokkestøl, Solheim, Soltveit, Sommerro, Stangenes, Steindalbruket, Stemmane, Stidalen, Stokken, Storaker, Store Frigstad, Stranderåsen, Strandsittere, Strømme Ytre, Strømme Øvre, Støle, Svalåsen, Sveinung-bruket, Søm, Søndre Valsvik, Sønningholmen,    Tangen, Tangodden, Tarald-bruket, Teistholmen, Terjesvoll, Timenes Nedre, Timenes Øvre, Tollei bruket, Tolleibruket, Torbør-bruket, Tore-bruket, Torgje bruket, Torgrim-bruket, Torkelsplassen, Torp, Torstein-bruket, Torsvik, Torsøya, Trollenes, Tømmerstø, Tømmervik,    Uhell, Ulf-bruket, Uttorm-bruket,    Vabua, Valsvik Nordre, Valsvik Søndre, Vatne, Vatnedalen, Vaviga, Vestergård, Vestre Buane, Vestre Kosvig, Vestre Vrånes, Vieregra, Vieren, Vigvoll, Vik, Vikvold, Vrånes, Vågen,    Ytre Strømme,    Ørevik, Ørumbye-bruket, Østre Vrånes, Øvre Hånes, Øvre Strømme, Øvre Timenes, Øvregarden,    Øygarden, Ådnevik, Åge-bruket, Åmundbruket, Ånonbruket

Probate Records

Mandal judicial district
*1667-1887 Family History Library
*1667-1834 Digitalarkivet

Kristianstad deanery
*1771-1810 Family History Library
*1771-1810 Digitalarkivet

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Tveite, Stean.  Randesund bygdebok Gard og Ætt.  Kristiansand: Edgar Høgfeldt A.S.. 1981