Randolph County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Randolph County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Randolph County

Guide to Randolph County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Randolph County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded information needed
County Seat Huntsville
Courthouse
MissouriRandolphCourthouse.jpg
Address Randolph County Courthouse
110 S Main Street
Huntsville, MO 65259
Phone: 660.277.4717
Randolph County Website


County Information

Randolph County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1883 1829 1883 1830 1841 1829

County Courthouse


County Recorder has marriage and land records; Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce records; Probate Court has probate records.[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1882 Courthouse burned on August 12, 1882. Some records were destroyed; deed index from 1829 survived.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

History

History of Randolph County, Missouri (1920), by Alexander H. Waller, is available free of charge online at Internet Archive.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Macon  • Chariton  • Howard  • Boone  • Audrain  • Monroe  • Shelby

Audrain CountyMonroe CountyRandolph CountyCallaway CountyLewis CountySullivan CountyAdair CountySaline CountyChariton CountyLinn CountyMarion CountyShelby CountyMacon CountyLivingston CountyCarroll CountyCooper CountyHoward CountyBoone CountyKnox CountyMORandolph.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MOGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MOGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MOInterment
MOGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information.

City Directories

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Randolph County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History of Randolph and Macon counties. St. Louis, Missouri : National Historical, 1884.
  • Waller, Alexander H. History of Randolph County, Missouri. Topeka, Kan. : Historical Pub. Co., 1920.
  • Edwards Brothers. An illustrated historical atlas of Randolph County, Missouri. Philadelphia, Pa. : Edwards Brothers of Missouri, 1876.

Maps

Randolph County

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Randolph County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Randolph County, Missouri:

- 4th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company A
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company B
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company C
- 1st Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company G
- 46th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 46th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D

- 46th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 46th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 46th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 46th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 46th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Detached Company
- 9th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company G

Civil War Battles
World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Randolph County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages


Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Historical Societies

Libraries

Little Dixie Regional Libraries

Monroe and Randolph Counties Library and Technical Center
Local newspaper data and scanned obituary images (Click on "genealogy" in the 24 hour Library Resources menu)

Family History Centers

  • Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Roxann Gess Website Free five Randolph Co. data bases / data may be submitted by individuals
Sites that search for links pertaining to Randolph County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Randolph County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Randolph Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Randolph County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Randolph County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
Ancestry.com Randolph County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Randolph County, Missouri. Page 404 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.