Randwick, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Randwick, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Randwick, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Randwick, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Whitstone
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Stroud
Registration District Stroud
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Gloucester
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

RANDWICK (St. John), a parish, in the union of Stroud, Upper division of the hundred of Whitstone,E. division of the county of Gloucester, 1 mile (N. W.by W.) from Stroud. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Randwick, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
Randwick, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1607-1812 1607-1812 1607-1753 1607-1753 1607-1812 1607-1812
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1770-1919 1770-1919 1813-1884, 1906-1911 1813-1884, 1906-1911
JOIN

1762-1836


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288781.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 633-638. Date accessed: 14 January 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 20 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  6. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 April 2014.