Ratby cum Groby, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Ratby cum Groby, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Ratby cum Groby, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sparkenhoe
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Market Bosworth
Registration District Market Bosworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1754; Separate registers exist for Oaks beginning 1816 and for Groby beginning 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: 1624; Separate registers exist for Oaks beginning 1816
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Guthlaxton
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Groby
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

GROBY, a hamlet, in the parish of Ratby, union of Market-Bosworth, hundred of Sparkenhoe, S. division of the county of Leicester, 4 miles (N. W. by W.)from Leicester.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ratby parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Ratby Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1754-1910
1754-1910
1754-1910

Groby parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Groby Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1840-1876

1840-1876

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438749.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 344-347. Date accessed: 21 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 25 January 2014.