Real County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Real County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Real County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||April 3, 1913|
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places / Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 African American
- 4.2 Cemeteries
- 4.3 Census
- 4.4 Church
- 4.5 Court
- 4.6 Land
- 4.7 Local Histories
- 4.8 Maps
- 4.9 Military
- 4.10 Newspapers
- 4.11 Obituaries
- 4.12 Probate
- 4.13 Taxation
- 4.14 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Real County, Texas Record Dates
County and District Clerk
P.O. Box 750
Real County has been home to two courthouses. A temporary courthouse was erected on the town square in 1913 after Real County was organized. In 1917 construction began on the current Real County Courthouse. The Ransom Courthouse Annex was opened in 1978, housing some of the county's government functions. 
Real County Courthouse
County Clerk - Bella A. Rubio
P. O. Box 750
Leakey, TX 78873
Fax: 830-232-6888 
1762--Comanche, Apache and Lipan-Apache settlements preceded the establishment of the Spanish Mission of San Lorenzo de la Santa Cruz in 1762. Anglo-American settlement began in 1857.
Real County is named for Julius Real (1860-1944), a former member of the Texas State Senate.
- County seat: Leakey 
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Camp Wood | Leakey | Rio Frio
- 1865-1870 Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records (images) - FamilySearch
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Clark Cemetery and Graveyard Flat Cemetery from the Real County TXGenWeb site
- Cypress Creek Cemetery from cemeteries-of-texas.com
- Exile Cemetery from the Real County TXGenWeb site
- Vance Cemetery from the USGenWeb Archives
- Rio Frio Cemetery map
- Real County Cemeteries cemetery list, transcriptions, maps, information
- Leakey Floral Cemetery Booklet available from the Real County Historical Museum
- Rio County Cemetery Books - may still be available from the Real County Historical Museum - Book One: Frio Canyon Cemeteries (within Real County), 1864-1997; Old small cemeteries in Real County; Book Two: Leakey Floral Cemetery; Book Three: Rio Frio Cemetery. More information.
- Tombstone Transcription Project ~ Partial transcription of cemetery tombstones ~ USGenWeb
- Texas Historic Cemeteries ~ Partial indexes to historic cemeteries
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Texas Escapes Listing of Texas cemeteries with transcriptions and lots of pictures.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Land Survey Abstract Indicies ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
Local histories are available for Real County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Wagons Ho, A History of Real County, 1995, by Marjorie Kellner. A history of Real County. Available from the Real County Historical Museum
- Tragedy at the McLaurin Ranch, by Margaret McLaurin Henderson. Available from the Real County Historical Museum
- Old Timers by Florence Fenley Book. Available from the Real County Historical Museum
- Breaks of the Balcones, 1967, by Allan A. Stovall.
- Nueces Headwater Country, 1959, by Allan A. Stovall.
- Real County Bibliography Books written about Real County from the Real County TXGenWeb site.
- Real County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Real County Historical Museum website
- Texas Museums ~ List of all museums in Texas ~ Hidden Ancestors
- 1915 Real County 1915 Land Office Map online from the Portal to Texas History
- Historical Maps ~ From the Republic to the Turn of the Century ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site
- 1838 - 1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards 1838-1900 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes ~ Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- 1845 - 1848 US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1861-1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ Texas State Library and Archives Commission
- Civil War Pension Applications ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Real County Korean War Casualties ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Real County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
- Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
- The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online
- Obituary Resources ~ Links to research and locate obituaries ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1903-1935 Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- 1903-1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1814-1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837-1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 - FamilySearch record collection
- 1837-1977 Texas County Marriage Records, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch. Index to a variety of marriage records (registers, licenses, intentions to marry, etc.) from select counties in Texas
- 1837-1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966-2005 Texas Marriage Records 1966 - 2005 - Hidden Ancestors
- 1966-2010 Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890-1976 Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- 1903-1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903-1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1903-2000 Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- 1964-1998 Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- 1977-1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 Hidden Ancestors
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968-2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1850-1930 USGenWeb Census Project Texas 1850 - 1930
Societies and Libraries
Real County Public Library
225 Main St
Leakey, TX 78873
Telephone Number: 830-232-5199
Camp Wood Public Library
106 Nueces St
Camp Wood, TX 78833
Telephone Number: 830-597-3208
Real County Historical Museum
Located 1/2 block North of the Real County Courthouse on Evergreen Street in Downtown Leakey
PO Box 852
Leakey, TX 78873
Telephone Number: 830-232-5330
- Society Hill ~ Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Real County Archives ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Real County TXGenWeb Site
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- USGenWeb Texas Archives Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Real County, Texas. Page 672 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- HistoricTexas.net: Real County http://www3.historictexas.net/real-county-texas
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).