Real County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Texas
Real County

Guide to Real County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


TX ORP.png


Real County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Real County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 3, 1913
County Seat Leakey
Courthouse
TexasRealCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today


County Information


Real County, Texas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1913 1913 1920 1913 1913


County Courthouse

Real County Courthouse
PO Box 656
Leakey, TX 78873-0656
Phone: 830.232.6888 

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, divorce,
probate and land records from 1913[1]

County and District Clerk

P.O. Box 750
Leakey 78873
Phone: 830-232-5202


Real County has been home to two courthouses.  A temporary courthouse was erected on the town square in 1913 after Real County was organized.  In 1917 construction began on the current Real County Courthouse.  The Ransom Courthouse Annex was opened in 1978, housing some of the county's government functions. [2]

Real County Courthouse
County Clerk - Bella A. Rubio
P. O. Box 750
Leakey, TX 78873
830-232-5202
Fax: 830-232-6888 [1]

Real County Government Website 

History

1762--Comanche, Apache and Lipan-Apache settlements preceded the establishment of the Spanish Mission of San Lorenzo de la Santa Cruz in 1762. Anglo-American settlement began in 1857.

Real County is named for Julius Real (1860-1944), a former member of the Texas State Senate.

Parent County

1913--Real County was created 3 April 1913 from Bandera, Kerr, and Edwards Counties.

  • County seat: Leakey [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Camp Wood | Leakey | Rio Frio

Neighboring Countes

Bandera  • Edwards  • Kerr  • Uvalde

Kinney CountyReal CountyEdwards CountyKerr CountyBandera CountyUvalde CountyTX REAL.JPG
About this image

Resources

African American

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
FindAGrave Family History Library FindAGrave
Linkpendium WorldCat Tombstone Project
Billion Graves (name) Cemeteries of TX
GenWeb Archives Texas Cemeteries
Billion Graves (cemetery) TX Gravestones
TXGenWeb Epodunk
Names in Stone
See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Additional Cemetery Sources

  • Leakey Floral Cemetery Booklet available from the Real County Historical Museum. Rio County Cemetery Books - may also still be available from the Real County Historical Museum - Book One: Frio Canyon Cemeteries (within Real County), 1864-1997; Old small cemeteries in Real County; Book Two: Leakey Floral Cemetery; Book Three: Rio Frio Cemetery. 
  • African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
  • Texas Escapes Listing of Texas cemeteries with transcriptions and lots of pictures.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
19201,461
19302,19750.4%
19402,42010.2%
19502,4792.4%
19602,079−16.1%
19702,013−3.2%
19802,46922.7%
19902,412−2.3%
20003,04726.3%
20103,3098.6%

Church

Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Real County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

Maps

Txreal.jpg

Military

Mexican-American War
Civil War
World War I
Korean War

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Real County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce



Societies and Libraries

Real County Public Library
225 Main St
Leakey, TX 78873
Telephone Number: 830-232-5199
Website

Camp Wood Public Library
106 Nueces St
Camp Wood, TX 78833
Telephone Number: 830-597-3208

Real County Historical Museum
Located 1/2 block North of the Real County Courthouse on Evergreen Street in Downtown Leakey
PO Box 852
Leakey, TX 78873
Telephone Number: 830-232-5330
E-mail:realmuseum@hctc.net
Website

  • Society Hill  ~  Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Real County, Texas. Page 672 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. HistoricTexas.net: Real County http://www3.historictexas.net/real-county-texas
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).