Redgrave, Suffolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Redgrave, Suffolk)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes  Gotoarrow.png Redgrave

Redgrave, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hartismere
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Hartismere
Registration District Hartismere
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartismere
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Parish History

REDGRAVE (St. Botolph), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hartismere, W. division of Suffolk. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.[1]


Redgrave with Botesdale, St Marys is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich and the county of Suffolk. Botesdale was a chapelry within  the parish.

Church Records

REDGRAVE (St. Botolph), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hartismere, W. division of Suffolk; containing, with the chapelry and town of Botesdale. The Wesleyans have a place of worship. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 652-655.

Redgrave, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
Redgrave, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1562-1812

IGI 1844-1845
NBI

1563-1901

Parish registers for Redgrave, 1538-1901 The parish includes the hamlet of Botesdale.

Suffolk Record Office reference FB132/D1/1-5, D2/1, D3/1-3, D4/1, D5/1-5, D6/1-2.

Content
Film

Baptisms, 1538-1646; marriages, 1561-1646; burials, 1561-1646. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1654-1661. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1662-1718. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1719-1740. Baptisms, burials, 1740-1778; marriages, 1740-1754. Baptisms, 1778-1803; burials, 1778-1812. Baptisms, 1803-1812. Baptisms, 1812-1858. Baptisms, 1858-1901. Burials, 1813-1892. Marriages, 1754-1776; marriage banns, 1754-1775. Marriages and marriage banns, 1776-1795. Marriages, 1795-1812. Marriages, 1813-1837. Marriages, 1837-1901. Marriage banns, 1803-1823. Marriage banns, 1823-1900.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474638.




Poor Law Unions


Registration Districts

  • Hartismere

Probate Jurisdictions

Suffolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes R through S

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 652-655. Date accessed: 02 October 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.