Redmarley D'Abitot, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Redmarley D'Abitot, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Redmarley D'Abitot, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oswaldslow
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Newent
Registration District Newent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powyke
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

REDMARLEY-D'ABITOT (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Newent, and in a detached portion of the Lower division of the hundred of Oswaldslow, Upton and W. divisions of the county of Worcester, 5½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Ledbury. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Redmarley D'Abitot, Worcestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[6]
Redmarley D'Abitot, Worcestershire Genealogy Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1539-1812 1539-1812 1539-1753 1539-1753 1539-1812 1539-1812
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1755-1938 1755-1938 1813-1987 1813-1987
DEAN 1703-1965 1703-1941 1539-1987

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464211.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 15 October 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 20 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  6. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 22 July 2016. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.