Redwood County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Redwood County, Minnesota)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Redwood County

Guide to Redwood County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Redwood County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Redwood County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 4, 1862
County Seat Redwood Falls
Courthouse
Address Redwood County Courthouse
PO Box 130
Redwood Falls, MN 56283
Phone: 507.637.4032
Redwood County Website


County Information

Redwood County, Minnesota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1864 1865 1869 1850 1865 1877

County Courthouse

Court Administration has birth, marriage and death records from 1865, divorce records from 1871, probate records from 1877 and court records from 1867. County Recorder has land records. [2]

History

Parent County

  • 1862--Redwood County was created 4 November 1862 from Brown County.  County seat: Redwood Falls [3]
  • For a brief history of how Redwood County was named, click here, then select Redwood County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[4]

Cities
  • Belview
  • Clements
  • Delhi
  • Gilfillan
  • Lamberton
  • Little Crow
  • Lucan
  • Milroy
  • Morgan
  • Redwood Falls
  • Revere
  • Sanborn
  • Seaforth
  • Vesta
  • Wabasso
  • Walnut Grove
  • Wanda
Townships
  • Brookville
  • Charlestown
  • Delhi
  • Gales
  • Granite Rock
  • Honner
  • Johnsonville
  • Kintire
  • Lamberton
  • Morgan
  • New Avon
  • North Hero
  • Paxton
  • Redwood Falls
  • Sheridan
  • Dherman
  • Springdale
  • Sundown
  • Swedes Forest
  • Three Lakes
  • Underwood
  • Vail
  • Vesta
  • Waterbury
  • Westline
  • Willow Lake

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MNGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census

Church

Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Redwood County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Revere

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Revere, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[5]

Court

Emigration and Immigration

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Redwood – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Redwood County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnredwood.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Redwood County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Online Probate Records

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth
Marriage
Death


Societies and Libraries

Redwood County Historical Society
R.R. #2, Box 12
Redwood Falls 56283

Redwood County Historical Society
913 W. Bridge
Redwood Falls, MN 56283
Telephone: 507-641-3329
Website

Redwood County Genealogical Society
614 S Minnesota Street
Redwood Falls, MN 56283
Website

Lucan Historical Society Depot Museum
PO Box 51
406 1st St
Lucan, MN, 56255
Telephone: 507-747-2598

Southwest Minnesota Historical Center
Social Science 141
Southwest Minnesota State University
1501 State Street
Marshall, MN 56258
Telephone: 507-537-7373

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Redwood County, Minnesota page 368, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wikipedia. Redwood County. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Redwood_County,_Minnesota (accessed 13 November 2014)
  5. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.