Rehetobel parish, Appenzell, Switzerland Genealogy
Guide to Rehetobel parish, Appenzell, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Rehetobel is located south of the mountain Gupf. The village enjoys the longest hours of sunshine in Switzerland on average. It has an area of 6.7 square kilometers (2.6 square miles). The area is used thusly:
Click here for a geographical map of Appenzell, including Rehetobel.
Rehetobel was settled in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries. The name was first mentioned in 1463 as an das Rechtobel. The church was built in 1669, when Rehetobel became independent from Trogen. On 9 April 1796, the village was destroyed in a fire; the church was saved. The church was destroyed in another fire on 28 June 1890, and another one was built in 1892.
The population of Reute was 1,643 in 1743. By 1813 the population had grown to 1,860 but fell by 1818 to 1,587. By 1850 it had increased to 1,984.
Locations within Rehetobel
Click here for a map showing Rehetobel in relation to the rest of Canton Appenzell.
The church records for Rehetobel are now available online from the Appenzell State Archives. They are organized by volume. Click here to access these records.
The parish of Rehetobel was established in 1669 from the parish of Trogen. Records held by the Family History Library include baptisms (Taufen), marriages (Heiraten), and deaths (Tote) 1669-1875; confirmations (Konfirmanden) 1770-1859; and divorces (Scheidungen) 1758-1787.
The following family books were created for the parish of Rehetobel, and unless otherwise noted are located in the Cantonal Archive in Herisau, Switzerland:
Volume 1 (1733) - household visitation book
Volume 2 (1734) - non-citizen residents' register
Volume 3 (1773) - household visitation book
Volume 4 (1791) - household visitation book
Volume 5 (1802) - household roll
Volume 6 (1806) - household roll
Volume 7 (1806) - family register; microfilmed by the Family History Library
Volume 8 (1810) - household roll
Volume 9 (1813) - household roll
Volume 10 (1822) - household visitation book, in the rectory in Rehetobel
Volume 11 (1830) - non-citizen resident family register
Volumes 12-13 (1835) citizen family register, in the rectory in Rehetobel
Volume 14 (1869) - Descendancy charts of pastor Johannes Oertle
Volume 15 (1876) - citizen family register, in the rectory in Rehetobel
(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)
The following genealogies have been researched for Speicher families:
Frehner family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,007)
Graf family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Films 193,472 and 193,473)
Lutz family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,973; see also FHL Film 193,478)
Schoch family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,009; see also FHL Film 193,483)
Signer family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,484)
Sturzenegger family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,485)
Walser family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,486)
Civil registration began in 1876. Rehetobel belongs to the Vorderland Appenzell civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:
Zivilstandsamt Vorderland Appenzell Ausserrhoden
St. Gallerstrasse 9
CH - 9038 Rehetobel
Tel: +41 71 878 70 20
The following surnames held citizenship in Rehetobel prior to 1875:
Messner (1812 from
The town's website (in German) can be found here.
Societies and Libraries
Cantonal Archive of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden (in German)
Registry of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden, by Mario von Moos