Reunion Island, France Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Reunion Island)
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png Réunion

Réunion Wiki Topics
Proposed flag of Réunion (VAR).svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Reunion Island, France Background
Local Research Resources


Guide to Réunion ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Réunion is an island overseas départements of France in the Indian Ocean whose nearest neighbors are Madagascar and Mauritius, the nearest island. The official language is French.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Réunion Research

Links to articles on getting started with Réunion research.

Réunion Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Réunion research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Réunion Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Réunion.

Re-map.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Réunion. Réunion is divided into four arrondissements, 49 cantons, and 24 communes.

Districts

  • Les Avirons
  • Bras-Panon
  • Cilaos
  • Entre-Deux
  • L'Étang-Salé
  • La Plaine-des-Palmistes
  • Petite-Île
  • La Possession
  • Le Port
  • Saint-André
  • Saint-Benoît
  • Saint-Denis
  • Saint-Joseph
  • Saint-Leu
  • Saint-Louis
  • Sainte-Marie
  • Saint-Paul
  • Saint-Philippe
  • Saint-Pierre
  • Sainte-Suzanne
  • Sainte-Rose
  • Salazie
  • Trois-Bassins
  • Le Tampon

Online Church Records and Civil Registration

The vast majority of your research will be in church records and civil registration. Fortunately, these records are available online from the archives of each department.

How to Read the Records

Learning to Read Enough French to Do Genealogy

  • It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.
French Genealogical Word List
French Handwriting.
  • There is a three-lesson course in reading French Records:
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 1: The French Alphabet,
French Handwritten Records Lesson 2: Key Words and Phrases
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 3: Reading French Records

Finding Church Records and Civil Registration Online

Each Department of France has archives that provide digitized images of these records.
Here is the address for the Department Archives of Reunion, where you will find these records.
National Overseas Archives, Reunion

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Réunion," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Réunion, accessed 22 April 2016.