Riccall, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Riccall, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Ouse and Derwent|
|Poor Law Union||Selby|
|Parish registers: 1669|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1627|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Riccall|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1638.
RICCALL (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Selby, wapentake of Ouse and Derwent, E. riding of York, 3½ miles (N.) from Escrick. The village is pleasantly situated on the river Ouse, and is spacious and well built. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Riccall exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|RICCALL PARISH (1669) Online Records|
|| 1669-1859, 1882
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464223.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 659-665. Adapted. Date accessed: 25 October 2013.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
- 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 30 September 2014.
- 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (East Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.