Rice County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Rice County, Minnesota)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Rice County

Guide to Rice County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Rice County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Rice County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 5, 1853
County Seat Faribault
Courthouse
Address Rice County Courthouse
320 NW 3rd Street
Faribault, MN 55021-5146
Phone: 507.332.6114
Rice County Website


County Information

Rice County, Minnesota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1870 1856 1870 1850 1853 1858

County Courthouse

Clerk District Court has birth, death, divorce
and court records from 1870,
marriage records from 1856 and burial Records.
County Recorder has land records. [2]

History

Parent County

  • 1853--Rice County was created 5 March 1853 from Dakota and Wabasha Counties.  County seat: Faribault [3]
  • For a brief history of Rice County's name, click here, then select Rice County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Database of Graves - John Dalby started walking cemeteries in 1983 with his wife Jan. They finished Rice County and in doing so, they decided to walked other cemeteries in selected counties in southern Minnesota. This lead to indexing:  graves from all cemeteries, history books, plats, and newspaper articles. Also, recording and indexing church records, marriages, birth, Civil War veterans and city directories of Rice County.  New data is entered and updated daily.  See other "Database" links under Rice County.

Census

State Census

Church

Database of Birth, Marriage, and Death Records - Starting dates of records are births (1800), marriages (1860) and deaths (1880)

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Lutheran

Fox Lake Lutheran Church, Faribault

  • Records of Fox Lake Lutheran Church, Faribault, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

St. John's Lutheran Church, Northfield

  • Records of St. John's Lutheran Church, Northfield, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Valley Grove, Nerstrand

  • Records of Valley Grove Lutheran Church, Nerstrand, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

City Directories

Database from 1906 - 1979

People in Books

Database from 1855 - 2009

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Rice – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Rice County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnrice.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Rice County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Rice County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Companies A and H.
- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company G.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company G.
- 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company H.
- 4th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company I.
- 6th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C.
- 7th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company A.
- 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company B.
- 10th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company H.
- 2nd Minnesota Company Sharpshooters, Second Company only.

Newspapers

Database of People

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Rice County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Database of Complete Obituaries from 1863 - 2014

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Online Probate Records

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth
Marriage
Death


Societies and Libraries

Rice County Genealogical Society
Northfield Historical Society Museum
Marston Headley Research Room
408 Division St
Northfield 55057
Telephone: 507-645-9268

Rice County Historical Society
1814 N.W. 2nd Avenue
Faribault, MN 55021
Telephone: 507-332-2121
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Rice County, Minnesota page 368, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.