Richland County, North Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Dakota
Richland County

Guide to Richland County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Wahpeton
Organized: January 4, 1873
Parent County(s): Pembina [1]
Neighboring Counties
Cass  • Ransom  • Sargent  • Clay (MN)  • Traverse (MN)  • Wilkin (MN)  • Marshall (SD)  • Roberts (SD)
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthDakotaRichlandCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
North Dakota Richland Map.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for Morgan T. Rich of Wahpeton. County government was organized on November 25, 1873. Its county seat is Wahpeton.[2]

County Courthouse

Richland County Courthouse
418 2nd Ave N
PO Box 966;
Wahpeton, ND 58075
Phone: 701.642.7818
Richland County Website

  • Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1900, divorce and court records from 1833 and some burial records.
  • County Judge has marriage records from 1890 and probate records from 1876.
  • Register of Deeds has land records[3]

Richland County, North Dakota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1900 1877 1883 1873 1873 1873 1880

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

1873--Richland County was created 4 January 1873 from Pembina County.
County seat: Wahpeton [1]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[4]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Townships
  • Dwight
  • Eagle
  • Elma
  • Fairmount
  • Freeman
  • Garborg
  • Grant
  • Greendale
  • Helendale
  • Homestead
  • Ibsen
  • LaMars
  • Liberty Grove
  • Lidgerwood
  • Mooreton
  • Moran
  • Nansen
  • Sheyenne
  • Summit
  • Viking
  • Walcott
  • Waldo
  • West End
  • Wyndmere


Indian Reservations
A portion of the Traverse Indian Reservation is in Richland County. The remainder of the reservation is in Marshall, Roberts, Day, and Codington Counties in South Dakota and in Sargent County in North Dakota.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Adams County, North Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 3,597
1890 10,751 198.9%
1900 17,387 61.7%
1910 19,659 13.1%
1920 20,887 6.2%
1930 21,008 0.6%
1940 20,519 −2.3%
1950 19,865 −3.2%
1960 18,824 −5.2%
1970 18,089 −3.9%
1980 19,207 6.2%
1990 18,148 −5.5%
2000 17,998 −0.8%
2010 16,321 −9.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for North Dakota starting in 1910. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.

Church Records

Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages. For more information, see North Dakota Land and Property.

Online Land Records (Index to Richland County BLM Land Records (USGenWeb Archives)

For more information see North Dakota Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories, including those of the county, are available for Richland County. These histories can include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information.

Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War


Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers

For more information see North Dakota Newspapers.

North Dakota Newspapers Online

North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

North Dakota State University Archives
West Building 3551 7th Avenue
N Fargo, ND 58102
Mailing Address:
NDSU Archives
Libraries NDSU Dept #2080
PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Phone: 701-231-8914
Fax: 701-231-5632
Email: ndsu.archives@ndsu.edu

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Wilkin-Richland Counties Genealogy Guild
2018 320th Street
Breckenridge, MN 56520
Telephone Number:218-643-2532

Museums

Societies

Richland County Historical Society
11 - 7th Avenue North
Wahpeton 58075-3931
Website

Richland County Historical Society
525 1st St
S, Wahpeton, ND 58075
Telephone: 701-642-4813

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Richland County, North Dakota, Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Richland County, North Dakota. Page 526 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Richland County, North Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia.