Riska (Riskekvernen), Norway

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngRogaland County Gotoarrow.pngRiska

Guide to Riska, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Church Books

Contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Hetland (Frue), Riska (Riskekverven) and Randaberg (Randeberg). They were separated from the combined Stavanger clerical district in 1849. Earlier church records are in the Cathedral church parish (Domkirken) in Stavanger city. Riskekverven (Riska) was separated from Frue and became its own parish in 1877.

Transcripts of church records of christenings 1688-1815 and births 1816-1839 for Stavanger including Hetland and Randaberg. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarket.

Census Records

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

1663-1666 Census for Stavanger district Database

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. May also include the residence of a male servant if he came from a different clerical district.

Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database

The 1801 census (b. 38) for Hetland clerical district includes Hetland, Frue, and Randaberg (Randeberg) parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

1801-telling for Stavanger Database

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.

1865-telling for Stavanger Database

This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information

This census contains the persons name, sex, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.

1900-telling for Stavanger Database

Court Records

Land Records

Probate Records

For 1666-1822 the probates are found in Jæren og Dalane judicial district.
For 1823-1882 they are found in Jæren judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Jæren deanery. `

Availability

Jæren og Dalane judicial district
*1666-1822 Family History Library
*1667-1860 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1815 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Jæren judicial district
*1763-1821 Family History Library
*1859-1896 Digitalarkivet.

Jæren deanery
*1763-1821 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1763-1821 Digitalarkivet.

Farm Book

Farm histories of Riska, Rogaland co., Norway with vital information on residents of the farms. Smith, Eivind, "Riska: gardar og tettstad," Sandnes: Sandnes Kommune, c1993. 948.31/R3 D2s FHL INTL Book

"Index to: Riska : gardar og tettstad" Stavanger, Norway: Rogaland Historie og Ættesogelag, 1996. 948.31/R3 D2s index FHL INTL Book

A history of the farms Laurvåsen and Eltervåg in Riska, Rogaland, Norway. Includes some genealogy. "Våre røtter i Lauvåsvågen - Lauvås - Eltervåg : et lokal- og slektshistorisk verk fra nordre del av Riska", Flekkefjord : S. Bern. Hegland A/S, 1983. 948.31/R3 H2v FHL INTL Book

Farm Names

39 Bjelland 37 Bjørkeli 34 Eltrevaag 34 Flaaden 38 Frøiland 34 Galtevigen 43 Graven 33 Hammeren 36 Hetland 41 Hogstad nordre 37 Hommersaag 42 Hovland 44 Jødestad 33 Lauvaasen 46 Li 35 Mauland 40 Mæland 45 Riske 43 Skjørestad 33 Slaattebakken 45 Slaatten 34 Tingholmen 32 Usken 33 Vaagen

Riska: Gardar og tettstad:

Uskjo: Maglastykkje, Sørvik, Der Nord, Kastevigå, Hallvarsbruket, Karenstykkje, Lauås: Lauvåsvågen, Slåttebakkjen, Hammaren, Kjelaparten, Longebakkjen, Eikebergheia, Eikebergheiå, Olaparten, Peraparten, Holland, Eltarvåg: Tingholmen, Teistholmane- Stølsvigjå, Slettå, Myrå (Stemmen), Naustervigjå, Hodl, Galtavigjå, Danmark, Vier, Rese,  Maudland, Hetland: Heiå, Røyrmyr, Danegrå, Der ude, Der borte, Maraholå, Hommarsåk: Vågjen, Ullsnes, Breivigjå, Leite (ObbSletten), Hagjen (Gonelhagjen), Andreasgarden, Bygnå, Kjeisargarden, Øykhagjen, Tjødnamyrå, Klokkarjordå, Frøland: Ljøde, Høvringstykkjet, Gjertrudstykkjet, Raskastykjet, Auglend, Foren, Vodl, Teinebekkholå, Rudlå, Bjelland: Kalvakheiå, Merland, Hogstad: Bergjurå, Steinane, Gitleplasset, Olaplasset, Lunden (Lo'en"), Tomsagarden, Heiå, Vestergård, Gjerdeheiå, Haualand: Henrikgarden, Skjørestad: Der sør, Der nord, Ribbå, Bakkjen, Hagjen, Jødestad: Pergarden, Finnavodl, Olagarden, Riska:  Slåttå, Egrå (Hedlevodl), Nere sine, Skjøerstadstykkjet (Øvregård), Vodl, Eskjemyrå, Luffene, Storåkeren, Der sør, Garden: Grytvigjå, Gaulekstykkjet, Heiå, Aslakstykkjet, Kyrkjevodl, Li, Dale: Egrå, Hodl


References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Smith, Eivind: Riska Gardar og Tettstad.  Utgeve av Sandnes kommune 1993.