Rochford, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Rochford, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Rochford, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rochford, Essex
Rochford St Andrew Essex.jpg
Rochford St Andrew Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rochford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Rochford
Registration District Rochford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Rochford, is a small town, a parish, a sub-district, a district, and a hundred, in Essex. The town is on the river Roche or Bromhill, an affluent of the river Crouch, 3½ miles N by W of Southend railway station, and 16½ miles S E of Chelmsford. It has a post-office under Chelmsford. There is an Independent and Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Rochford, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Rochford, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1678-1889
1680-1905
1678-1905
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office

See also Rochford Hospital, Rochford Wesleyan Methodist Church, Rochford Congregational Church and Rocheway Evangelical Church

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Protestant Dissenters
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241375.


Poor Law Unions

Rochford Poor Law Union, Essex

Microfilm copy of original at the Essex Record Office, Colchester. Churchwardens and overseers records, 1658-1913 Essex Record Office, Colchester, reference: D/P129/5/1-3, D/P129/8-10, D/P129/11/1-3, 12/1-6, 13/1A-5, 14/1-3, 15/1-4, 16/1-6, 17/1-9, 18/1-14, D/P129/21, 25/1, 28/1-5.

Churchwardens accounts, 1742-1913 Vestry records, 1785-1824 Constable records, 1742, 1774, 1829 Overseers rates, 1797, 1804, 1823 Overseers accounts, 1773-1774, 1800-1802 FHL BRITISH Film
1471655 Items 15-26
Overseers accounts, 1762-1809 FHL BRITISH Film
1471878
Overseers accounts, 1808-1869 Overseers settlements, 1698-1830 FHL BRITISH Film
1471879
Overseers settlements, 1808-1830 Apprenticeships, 1658-1659, 1709-1711, 1728-1812, 1823-1829 Bastardy records, 1712-1718, 1732, 1754-1756, 1767-1771, 1783-1795, 1809-1829 Settlements, 1704, 1756, 1791-1796, 1810, 1823-1829 Militia records, 1778, 1795-1809 Miscellaneous, 1773-1830 Surveyors accounts, 1782-1794 Charities, 1777 Miscellaneous, 1742, 1796-1805, 1820, 1898 FHL BRITISH Film
1471731 Items 1-44

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Rochford on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted, date accessed: 18 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.