Rock County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Rock County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Rock County

Guide to Rock County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.



{{{link}}}


Rock County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of Wisconsin highlighting Rock County
Location in the state of Wisconsin
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1842
County Seat Janesville
Courthouse
Address Rock County Courthouse
51 S Main Street
Janesville, WI 53545-3978
Phone: 608.757.5660
Rock County Courthouse


County Information

Rock County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1856 1840 1840 1839 1850

County Courthouse

Rock County Courthouse 
51 S Main Street
Janesville, WI 53545-3978
Phone: 608.757.5660

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and death records from 1849
and land records from 1839; Registrar in Probate has probate records [1]

County Offices

History

Parent County

1836--Rock County was created 7 December 1836 from Milwaukee County. County seat: Janesville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

There have been no boundary changes in Rock County since its inception.

Records Loss

First Courthouse was built in 1841 and was destroyed by fire in 1859.

Places / Localities

WI ROCK.JPG

Populated Places

See Wikipedia entry

Neighboring Counties

Boone County, Illinois  • Dane  • Green  • Jefferson  • Walworth  • Winnebago County, Illinois

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WIGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
WIGenWeb Archives
WITombstone Project
Graveyards
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.

Census

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
  • 1905 - 1905 Rock County, Wisconsin State Census— Free indexed images can be viewed on the FamilySearch website. This census includes name of each member of the household, sex, race, age, marital status, country of birth, country of parents' birth, occupation, and home ownership.
  • 1836-1930 - Rock County Census Records Records from 1836 to 1930. State and federal census by township. Some links. WIGenWeb project

Church History and Records

Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Beloit, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

City and county directories from 1858 to 1931 can be found at

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Rock County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Rock County.

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies K, L, and M
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies C, E, H, and L
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company E
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Company B
- 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company G
- 8th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company G
- 13th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies A, B, D, E, F, G, H and K
- 15th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company G

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Records


Vital Records

The Wisconsin Genealogy Index at the Wisconsin Historical Society contains an index of pre-1907 Wisconsin vital records.

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Taxation

Voting Registers

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Rock County Historical Society
426 North Jackson Street
Janesville, WI 53548
(608) 756-4509

Archives, Libraries and Museums

County Court House

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Rock County Genealogical Society
Mailing address: PO Box 0936
Janesville, WI 53547-0936

RCGS Library located in the Charles Tallman
Archives and Research Center
430 Jackson Street
Janesville, WI 53547-0936 Hours: Wed. - Fri., 10 AM - 4 PM (call ahead)
Telephone: 608-752-5891
Website

Rock County Historical Society
PO Box 8096
Janesville, WI 53547-8096
Telephone: 608-756-4509
Website

Rock County Historical Society
426 N Jackson St
Janesville, WI 53548
Telephone: 608-756-4509
Website

Beloit Historical Society
845 Hackett St
Beloit, WI 53511
Telephone: 608-365-7835
Website

Clinton Community Historical Society
PO Box 606
Clinton, WI 53525
Telephone: 608-676-4940
website

Evansville Grove Society
PO Box 234
Evansville, WI 53536
Telephone: 608-882-6939
Website

Milton Historical Society
PO Box 245
Milton, WI 53563
Telephone: 608-868-2930
Website

Sterling North Society
409 W Rollin St
Edgerton, WI 53534
Telephone: 608-884-7589 Or: 608-884-3731
Website

Websites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 759 Rock County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).