Romford, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Romford, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png EssexGotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Romford, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Romford, Essex
St Edward's Church, Romford .jpg
St Edward's Church, Romford
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Havering atte Bower Liberty
County Essex
Poor Law Union Romford
Registration District Romford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561; For more records see Hornchurch
Bishop's Transcripts: 1766
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barking
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Hornchurch
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Romford, is a town, a parish, a sub-district, and a district, in Essex. The town& is on a small affluent of the river Thames, and on the Eastern Counties railway, 12 miles E N E of Bishopsgate, London. It has a head post-office, there is a railway station with telegraph. There are three dissenting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, an Independent chapel, as well as a Weleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office  St Edward the Confessor (St mary the Virgin and St Edward) See also the numerous churches in Romford.

Romford, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Romford, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1561-1923
1561-1946
1561-1937
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

St John the Divine
Mawney Rd
Baptisms
Marriages 1928- date: Not deposited

St Michael & All Angels
Main Road
Gidea Park
Baptisms
Marriages 1930- date: Not deposited

St Thomas
Noak Hill
Formed 1841

The Ascension
Collier Row
Formed 1880 as mission church
Parish created 1927

St Edward
(Roman Catholic)
Park End Rd
Baptisms 1852- date
Marriages 1857- date: Not deposited
Death register: 1858-1877: WDA

Congregational Chapel
Hornchurch Lane
Baptisms 1812-1818: PRO

Congregational Chapel
South St
Baptisms 1779-1854
Baptisms 1904-1943
Marriages 1904-1943
Burials 1781-1855: ERO

Methodist Chapel
Victoria Rd
Baptisms 1936-1961: ERO

Primitive Methodist Circuit
Baptisms 1861-1916: ERO

Romford Baptist Chapel
Marriages 1937-1943: ERO

Trinity Wesleyan Methodist Chapel
Baptisms 1835-1837: ERO

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241368.


Poor Law Unions

Romford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Romford on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted, date accessed: 18 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.