Rorbas parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Rorbas parish

Guide to Rorbas parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

Rorbas includes the civil parish of Freienstein-Teufen.

History

Place Names

Locations within Rorbas

Surrounding Parishes

Berg am Irchel
Buch am Irchel
Buchberg (Schaffhausen)
Bülach
Dättlikon
Eglisau
Embrach
Rüdlingen (Schaffhausen)

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Rorbas:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 2 525
1637 1185141 2 1133
1640 1185143 2 547
1643 1185146 1 347
1646 1185147 2 769
1649 1185149 1 651
1657 1185179 1 48
1663 1185179 2 231
1671 1185154 1 341
1678 1185157 1 729
1682 1185159 3 437
1689 1185162 1 557
1694 1185168 2 789
1708 1185172 1 1049
1730 1185174 1 793

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Rorbas families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Rorbas prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland