Roscommon County, Michigan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Roscommon County, Michigan)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Michigan Gotoarrow.png Roscommon County

Guide to Roscommon County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Roscommon County, Michigan
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Founded April 1, 1840
County Seat Roscommon
Address Roscommon County Courthouse
500 Lake St.
Roscommon, MI 48653
Phone: (517) 275-5923
Roscommon County Website

County Information

Roscommon County, Michigan Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1874 1875 1874 1820 1875 1875

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1874, military,
divorce, probate, court and land records from 1875. [2]


Parent County

1840--Roscommon County was created 1 April 1840 from Mackinac County. Formerly Mikenauk county, until name changed to Roscommon 8 March 1843. It was attached to Mackinac, Cheboygan, and Midland Counties prior to organization 20 March 1875. County seat: Roscommon [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Clare  • Crawford  • Gladwin  • Kalkaska  • Missaukee  • Ogemaw  • Oscoda

Roscommon CountyIosco CountyGrand Traverse CountyClare CountyTuscola CountySanilac CountyBay CountyArenac CountyHuron CountyMidland CountyGladwin CountyOsceola CountyMissaukee CountyCrawford CountyKalkaska CountyWexford CountyAntrim CountyOscoda CountyAlcona CountyOgemaw CountyMIRoscommon.JPG



Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county Family History Library
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MIGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Michigan Cemeteries for more information.


State Census


Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.


Emigration and Immigration


Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Roscommon County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.




Civil War

Civil War service men from Roscommon County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Roscommon County.



Finding More Michigan Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Roscommon County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:



In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Michigan, Roscommon and search for Probate records in the list.

Note: Not every county in Michigan will have Probate Records in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Online Probate Records


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

  • 1868-1925 - Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch.  Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
  • 1867-1897 - Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897 --  Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch.   Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.

Societies and Libraries

Roscommon County Genealogical Society

2597 S. Gladwin Rd.
PO Box 983
Prudenville, Mi 48651
Telehone Number: 989-366-1774

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 369-384. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Roscommon County, Michigan page 350, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).