Rosedale, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Rosedale, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Pickering|
|Parish registers: 1616|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1617|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Rosedale is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1739 from Lastingham, Yorkshire Ancient Parish and Middleton with Cropton and Lockton, Yorkshire Ancient Parish.Other places in the parish include: Rosedale West Side and Rosedale East Side.
The Church of St Mary and St Laurence in Rosedale East Side is in the civil parish of Rosedale East Side has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building It is the 1839 building to replace Rosedale Abbey Priory Chapel.
See also Rosedale Wikipedia
ROSEDALE EAST SIDE, a chapelry, in the parish of Middleton, union and lythe of Pickering, N. riding of York, 7 miles (N. E. by N.) from Kirkby-Moorside; comprising the townships of Hartoft and Rosedale East Side .
ROSEDALE WEST SIDE, a township, in the parish of Lastingham, union of Pickering, wapentake of Ryedale, N. riding of York, 11 miles (N. W. by N.) from Pickering.
Records from the Ryedale registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.
- Church of England marriages.
- Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
- Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.
A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index
Online data content from chapelry registers of Rosedale exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|ROSEDALE CHAPELRY (1616) Online Records|
|| 1672-1702, 1727, 1732
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Rosedale East Side and comprising the whole ancient parish of Middleton Parish to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the MIDDLETON PARISH page.
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Rosedale West Side and comprising the whole ancient parish of Lastingham to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LASTINGHAM PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464234.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.