Rosliston, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Rosliston, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Ropsliston, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rosliston, Derbyshire
St Mary Rosliston Derbyshire.JPG
St Mary Rosliston Derbyshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Burton upon Trent
Registration District Burton upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1756; For more records see Walton on Trent
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartshorn
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

ROSLISTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Burton-upon-Trent, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 4½ miles (S. by W.) from Burton. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District . http://www.staffordshirebmd.org.uk/cgi/birthind.cgi?county=staffordshire The registration district prior to 1937 included this parish. From 1937 onwards the Repton district was responsible. Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Church records

Rosliston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Rosliston St Mary the Virgin (1762) Chapelry Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1868 Mar 1662-1841 Burials 1662-1868

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.


Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Rosliston on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 695-697. Date accessed: 27 May 2013.
[