Ross, Herefordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ross, Herefordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Ross, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ross, Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Greytree
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Ross
Registration District Ross
Records begin
Parish registers: 1671
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ross
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Parish History

ROSS (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Greytree, county of Hereford, 14 miles (S. E.) from Hereford, and 120 (W. N. W.) from London. Tradition reports this place to have been founded from the ruins of the Roman town Ariconium, which stood at a short distance.[1]

Also known as Ross on Wye.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Ross, Herefordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[2]
Ross, Herefordshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
DEAN 1671-1945 1671-1945 1671-1949

Census records

Census returns for Ross 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901

Poor Law Unions

Ross Poor Law Union,Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Ross/index.html

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 697-703. Accessed and adapted 16 April, 2013.
  2. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 22 July 2016. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.