Rothwell, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Rothwell, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Carlton Gilbert Union|
|Registration District||Hunslet; Wakefield|
|Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Oulton beginning 1830|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599; Separate records exist for Oulton beginning 1830|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
This ancient parish was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1538.
ROTHWELL (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York; containing, with the townships of Lofthouse with Carlton, Middleton, Oulton with Woodlesford, and Thorpe, 7462 inhabitants, of whom 2988 are in Rothwell township, 4½ miles (S. E.) from Leeds. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Rothwell exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org - free|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org - free|
|IARC = Internet Archive - free|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|ROTHWELL PARISH (1538) Online Records|
|| 1804, 1820-1836
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464240.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 697-703. Date accessed: 25 October 2013.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
- 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.