Rottingdean, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Rottingdean, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Newhaven|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
ROTTINGDEAN (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Newhaven, hundred of Younsmere, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 4 miles (E.) from Brighton. It is also a civil parish. The village, in ancient records termed Rottington, is pleasantly situated near the coast, on the Newhaven road. 
The Anglican Parish of St Margaret is an Ancient Parish and parts of the nave of the building date from the 12th century. The history of the Church is described at Sussex Parish Churches Brighton and Hove St Margaret Rottingdean
Other places of worship in Rottingdean include
Former Balsdean Chapel see Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Our Lady of Lourdes, Queen of Peace (Roman Catholic) Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Roedean School Chapel Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
St Dunstan's Chapel [http://www.sussex-opc.org/index.php?p=449&k=1157&t=Church+ Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC))
St Martha, Star of the Sea Convent Chapel (Roman Catholic)
Other places of worship in Woodingdean include
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
The Register Office
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Rottingdean, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Rottingdean, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Rottingdean
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464161.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 703-705. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.