Roydon, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Roydon, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England go to Essex go to Essex Parishes

Guide to Roydon, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Roydon, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Harlow; Waltham
County Essex
Poor Law Union Epping
Registration District Epping
Records begin
Parish registers: 1567
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harlow
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Roydon, is a village and a parish in Epping district, Essex. The village stands on the river Stort, and on the Eastern Counties railway, at the boundary with Hertfordshire, it is 4½ miles W by S of Harlow; it is sometimes called Woodredon; it was formerly a market-town; and has a station on the railway, and a post-office under Ware. There is an Independent chapel.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Roydon, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Roydon, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FSPRs Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241378.

Poor Law Unions

Chelmsford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Roydon on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)


  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted, date accessed: 18 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.