Rugby, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Rugby, Warwickshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Rugby, Warwickshire
St Andrew's Church, Rugby warwickshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Knightlow
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Rugby
Registration District Rugby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1620
Bishop's Transcripts: 1665
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Marton
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

RUGBY (St. Andrew), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the Rugby division of the hundred of Knightlow, N. division of the county of Warwick, 16½ miles (E. N. E.) from Warwick, and 83 (N. W. by N.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans; and a Roman Catholic chapel dedicated to St. Marie, built by Captain Hibbert, and consecrated in Sept. 1847.[1]

Additional information:

Rugby St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in the marton deanery of the Diocese of Worcester.

St Andrew's Church, in the town centre, is Rugby's original parish church. A church has stood on the site since the 13th century. The church was extensively re-built and expanded in the 19th century, designed by William Butterfield. The expanded church included a new east tower, which has a spire 182 feet (55 metres) high. However some parts of the older medieval church were retained, most notably the 22 metre high west tower which bears strong resemblance to a castle turret. The west tower was probably built during the reign of Henry III (1216–1272) to serve a defensive as well as religious role, and is Rugby's oldest building. The church has other artifacts of medieval Rugby including the 13th-century parish chest, and a medieval font.

Rugby also has a fine Catholic church St Maries Roman Catholic Church,Rugby,Warwickshire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Rugby, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3]
Rugby, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910
FMP 1620-1876 1620-1840 1620-1812

Rugby Parish Registers Online (images, transcripts, or indexes)

FamilySearch.org
Warwickshire Parish Registers 1538-1900
Findmypast.co.uk
Baptisms Marriages Burials
Rugby Holy Trinity 1854-1859
Rugby St. Andrew 1620-1876 1620-1840 1620-1812
Rugby St Matthew 1841-1875


Parish Registers held at the Family History Library


Baptisms  Marriages & Banns Burials Other
Rugby St. Matthew 1841-1875; 1875-1911 Marriages 1868-1876; 1877-1903; Banns 1868-1908 1842

Churchwardens' Accounts 1842-1877:

Bishop Transcripts 1841-1857; 1864-1967; 1878-1880- Baptisms

Rugby St. Andrew 1621-1876; 1874-1896; 1896-1906 Marriages 1621-1812; 1754-1876; 1874-1902; Banns 1754-1813 1621-1812; 1813-1847; 1847-1950

List of the Churchwardens' inlcuding St. Matthews and St. Oswold to 1949

Rate Books 1710-1852 & Account Books, etc. 1717-1875

Bishop Transcripts 1662-1846; 1867-1872

Rugby Holy Trinity 1854-1879; 1877-1907 Marriages 1875-1908
Rugby Wesleyan  1815-1837


Rugby Parish Registers held at the Warwickshire County Record Office


Baptisms Marriages Burials
Ruby St. Matthew 1841-1954 1868-1948 1842
Rugby St. Andrew 1621-1940 1621-1976 1621-1950
Rugby Holy Trinity 1854-1974 1875-1974
Rugby St. George 1941-1969
Rugby St. John 1911-1991 1939-1984
Ruby St. Peter 1901-1992 1909-1993
Rugby St. Philip 1914-1941 1915-1958

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464176.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 12 November 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.