Ruskington, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Ruskington, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Ruskington All Saints Lincolnshire
|Poor Law Union||Sleaford|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561|
|Rural Deanery||Aswardhurn with Lafford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
RUSKINGTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Sleaford, wapentake of Flaxwell, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 3¾ miles (N. N. E.) from Sleaford. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Ruskington All Saints is an Ancient Parish and the Norman church was built in 1086 to replace the earlier wooden Anglo-Saxon church on the site. Although part of the tower masonry survives it was rebuilt in 1620 after damage in 1618.
Ruskington is a large village four miles north of Sleaford and the village contains other churches; Ruskington Methodist Church, Ruskington Free Church and the modern South Lincs Church, a Pentecostal Church previously known as the Emmanuel Christian Centre.
This parish was part of the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford regstration district.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Ruskington Par 1 will identify available images.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: email@example.com The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ruskington
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438758.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 03 September 2013.