Rutland County, Vermont Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Rutland County, Vermont)
Jump to: navigation, search

Guide to Rutland County, Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Rutland County


{{{link}}}

Rutland County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Rutland County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded February 22, 1781
County Seat Ruthland
Courthouse
Address Rutland County Courthouse
83 Center Street, Rutland, VT 05701-4017
802-775-4394
Fax: 802-775-2291
Rutland County Website


County Courthouse

Secretary of State Office, Montpelier has birth, marriage, and death records 1760-1955 and divorce records 1760-1968; Town Clerks  have land records from 1826; County Clerk  has land records 1779-1826 and court records; Probate Court  has probate records.

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Benson 1780,
Brandon 1761,
Castleton 1761,
Chittenden 1780,
Clarendon 1761,
Danby 1761,
Fair Haven 1779,
Hubbardton 1764,
Ira 1781,
Mendon 1781,
Middletown Springs 1784,
Mt. Holly 1792,
Mt. Tabor 1761,
Pawlet 1761,
 Pittsford 1761,
Poultney 1761,
Rutland 1761,
Sherburn 1761,
Shrewsbury 1761,
Sudbury 1763,
Wallingford 1761,
Wells 1761,
West Haven 1792[1]

Brief History

Parent County

  • Created 22 February 1781 from the Colonial lands. [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

VermontNew YorkRutland CountyBennington CountyWindham CountyWindsor CountyOrange CountyAddison CountyEssex CountyWashington CountyBensonWest HavenFair HavenSudburyBrandonHubbardtonPittsfordChittendenPittsfieldCastletonWest RutlandProctorRutlandMendonKillingtonPoultneyIraClarendonShrewsburyMiddletown SpringsWellsTinmouthWallingfordMount HollyPawletDanbyMount TaborRupertDorsetManchesterPeruWindhallLandgroveLondonderryWindhamGraftonWestonAndoverChesterLudlowCavendishReadingPlymouthBridgewaterBernardStockbridgeBethelRochesterRandolphBraintreeGranvilleHancockRiptonGoshenMiddleburySalisburyLeicesterCornwallWhitingBridgeportShorehamOrwellArgyleHebronHartfordGranvilleFort AnnWhitehallHamptonDresdenPutnamHagueTiconderogaCrown Point
Modern town borders in Rutland County, Vermont.


City:

Towns:

Extinct Town:

  • Philadelphia[2]

Village:

  • Poultney

Communities:

  • Brandon
  • Fair Haven
  • Wallingford

Neighboring Counties

Addison | Bennington | Windsor | Washington County, New York

Resources

Cemeteries

Church Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Local Histories

Maps

Vtrutland.jpg

Military Records

===== Civil War =====..33

Regiments and Companies:

- 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- 5th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies G, H and I

Newspapers

Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has North Adams, MA newspapers (1895-1977) covering local news that included Rutland County residents.

Probate Records

Online Probate Records


There are two Rutland County Probate Districts:

  • Rutland District - Brandon, Chittenden, Clarenden, Danby, Ira, Mendon, Middletown Springs, Mount Holly, Mount Tabor, Pittsfield, Pittsford, Rutland, Sherburne, Shrewsbury, Tinmouth, Wallingford and West Rutland.
  • Fair Haven District - Benson, Castleton, Fair Haven, Hubbardton, Pawlet, Poultney, Sudbury, Wells and West Haven.

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for the following Vermont certificates:

Downloadable applications from Vermont Department of Health.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Historical Societies

Castleton Historical Society
PO Box 219,
Castleton, VT 05735
Phone: (802) 468-5105
Email:blueshoehh@hotmail.com

Chittenden Historical Society
PO Box 89,
Chittenden, VT 05737
Phone: (802) 483-9563
Website

Fair Haven Historical Society
3 North Park Place,
Fair Haven, VT 05743
Phone: (802) 265-3103

Rutland Historical Society Inc
Nickwackett Firehouse
96 Center Street
Rutland, VT 05701-4023
Phone: (802) 775-2006
Email:president@rutlandhistory.com
Email:jshkdavidson@comcast.net
Website

Fair Haven Historical Society
Municipal Building
3 North Park Place
Fair Haven, VT 05743
Phone: (802) 265-3103
Email:fhgstechie@yahoo.com

Hubbardton Historical Society
Monument Hill Schoolhouse
5568 Monument Hill Road
Hubbardton, VT
PO Box 383
Castleton, VT 05735
Phone:802-273-2242
Email:history@hubbardton.net

Mendon Historical Society
Town Clerk's Office
2282 US Route 4
Mendon, VT 05701
Phone802-773-1662

Middletown Springs Historical Society
Museum, On The Green
PO Box 1121
Middletown Springs, VT05757
Phone:802-235-2561
Email:jonm@vermontel.net
Website

Pawlet Historical Society
North Pawlet School
VT Route 30
North Pawlet, VT
Mailing Address: PO Box 113
Pawlet, VT 05761
Phone: (802) 645-9529 or (802) 325-2406
Email:voorburg@sover.net

Pittsford Historical Society, Inc
Eaton Hall
3399 US Route 7
Pittsford, VT 05763
PO Box 423
Pittsford, VT 05763
Website

Poultney Historical Society
Union Academy, Melodeon Factory and 1896 Schoolhouse on the Green
East Poultney, VT
PO Box 605
East Poultney, VT 05741
Phone:802-287-5252
Email:info@poultneyhistoricalsociety.org
Website

Proctor Historical Society
Proctor Free Library
4 Main Street
Proctor, VT 05765
Phone:802-459-2291

Wallingford Historical Society
Town Hall
75 School Street
Wallingford, VT 05773
Phone: (802) 446-3560
Email:Brookvale@Vermontel.net
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 6999 Rutland County, Vermont. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 395. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.