Sölvesborg Stadsförsamling Parish, Blekinge, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Blekinge
Sölvesborg Stadsförsamling

Guide to Sölvesborg: Stadsförsamling Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History

In 1868 Sölvesborg Landsförsamling was created from Sölvesborg Stadsförsamling. In 1951 Sölvesborg Landsförsamling was dissolved and combined with the Stadsförsamling.
This parish was called Sölvesborg Stadsförsamling after 1950. From 1951 on, it was called Sölvesborg.
Sölvesborg Stadsförsamling Parish, Blekinge, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Lund
Pastorat -1950 Sölvesborgs stadsförsamling and Sölvesborgs landsförsamling
1951- Sölvesborg
Län Blekinge
Landskap Blekinge
Härad Sölvesborg stad
Tingslag not applicable
Domsaga Sölvesborg
Fögderi 1720-1867 Bräkne and Lister
1868-1917 Sölvesborg stad
1918-1945 Karlshamn
1946-1966 Sölvesborg
1967- Karlshamn
Länsmansdistrikt add here
Kronofogdedistrikt Blekinge län
Kommun 1863-1970 Sölvesborg stad
1971- Sölvesborgs kommun
Militär indelning not applicable
FamilySearch I.D. 6372516
NAD Ref Code SE/LLA/13397


Place Names

Sölvesborg Stadsförsamling used a numbering system for most places. In addition to the numbered places, Sölvesborg Stadsförsamling also had the following places:

Augusthill, Australien,
Bryggeriet,
Charlottendal,
Damlyckehuset,
Falkahuset, Fattighuset, Fridhem,
Gerdbolyckehus, Grönadalshuset, Gustafsborg,
Johanneshill, Johanneslund,
Kämpahuset, Kjellshuset,
Landevägslyckan, Ljungalyckehuset, Lotshuset,
Missionshuset,
Nya Varvet,
Perstorp,
Riddarbanslyckan,
Segersvik, Sjöbyggelyckenhuset, Skogstorp, Skogvaktarbostället, Smedjehuset, Svenstorp,
Tullarelyckehuset,


Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.


Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:


Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Blekinge Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a family history center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Blekinge" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Societies and Libraries

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

  • First find the birth and baptism record of your ancestor. Once you know his date and place of birth and his parents' names, you can locate the family in the Household Examination Records.
  • Search every Household Examination Record that your ancestor appears on (from birth to death). You will pick up valuable clues along the way, find children who died young, and establish correct family member relationships.
  • All birth, marriage, or death dates found in Household Examination Records need to be verified in the actual birth, marriage, or death records.
  • Pay attention to relationship titles, occupations, military status, and remarks. See word list for Vocabulary for Household Examination Records.
  • Dates are written in the European order of day, month, and year.

See Sweden Research Strategies for locating various records in specific time periods.

References

Jurisdictional information from: Riksarkivet, “Sölvesborg församling”, at Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). November 2011.