Sønder Felding Parish, Ringkøbing, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Ringkøbing County
Sønder Felding


History

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Add here
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Add here
Pastorat (chapelry) Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Lundenæs
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Ringkøbing
Herred (district) Hammerum
Kommune (municipality) Sønder Felding
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 37
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 27
Gods (estate) Add here


I have information on my family Birk/ Birch in Sønder Felding dating back to 1620 when an old ancestor was the clergyman in the parish church. The church dates from the 11th century. This family has retained the Birk name down to modern times and has immigrated to many parts of the world, including America, New Zealand and Australia.

Place Names:

Birkeby, Bjerge / Bjerre, Borkærgaard, Burskov, Drongstrup, Drongstrup Mark, Elkær, Felding Mose, Felding Mølle, Felding, Sdr., Feldinggaard, Fruerby, Fruergaard, Gammelmark, Gaardsvig, Hedeby, Hedehjemmet, Høgsvig, Ilderhede, Ilderhede Kirke, Ilderhøj, Kirkehuset, Kirsdal, Klavshøjene, St. & Ll., Klinkgård, Klodhøje, Klokkehøj, Koksgaard, Kopsgaard, Kærhede, Kærholm, Kølholt, Lillebjerg, Linsgaard, Lyng, Lysgåraa, Mellembjerg, Minds, Mosegaard, Nederby, Nederbygaard, Nødvig, Nørremosegaard Plantage, Overby, Rødvig, Sandet, Sandvigs Hussted, Skjern Å, Skjoldhøj, Skovbjerg, Skovbjerg Plantage, Skyttens Væring, Solhjem, Sortekær, Stakroge, Stranddammehøjene, Sønder Felding, Sønder Felding Mose, Sønderbjerg, Sønderlandet,Tarp, Troldhøj, Udsigten, Ulvøj, Vesterbjerge, Vestergaard, Westergaard, Østerbjerge, Østergaard

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Ringkøbing Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a family history center near you. Click on "Places within Denmark, Ringkøbing" and then select your parish.

References

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/,
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.8, Ringkøbing Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1928