Sønder Lem Parish, Ringkøbing, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Ringkøbing County
Sønder Lem


History

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Add here
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Add here
Pastorat (chapelry) Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Lundenæs
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Ringkøbing
Herred (district) Bølling
Kommune (municipality) Sønder Lem
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 23
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 42
Gods (estate) Add here


Place Names: 

Agerbo, Bjerggaarde, Bækbo, Degnbol, Dejbjerg, Hede, Favrby, Fårborg, Gammelgaarde, Gråkær Bakke, Hamborg Bakke, Højmark, Karsbæk, Kjelderbakke, Kolstrup, Kærgaard, Lambæk, Lem, Lem Stationsby, Nihøje, Nygaard, Nymark, Nørby, Nørhede, Refstrup, Rindhuse, Røgind Bæk, Sønder Lem, Sønder Lem Kirke, Tophøj, Tophøj Vesterkær, Vestertredje, Ålbjerg, Øster Lem, Øster Lem Hede, Østergaard, Østervang

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)


  • Probate Records


Related Sources

  • Digital


  • Printed


Societies and Libraries


References;

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/,
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.8, Ringkøbing Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1928