Sac County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sac County, Iowa)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Sac County

Guide to Sac County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Sac County, Iowa
Map of Iowa highlighting Sac County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Founded January 15, 1851
County Seat Sac City

County Information

Sac County, Iowa Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1880 1864 1880 1840 1856 1857

County Courthouse

Quick Facts

Parent County

1851 Sac County was created 15 January 1851 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Woodbury and Greene Counties prior to organization 7 April 1856. County seat: Sac City [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

1888 The courthouse burned, but some charred records were recovered.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Buena Vista • Calhoun • Carroll • Cherokee • Crawford • Ida • Pocahontas

Sac CountyCalhoun CountyCarroll CountyCrawford CountyIda CountyCherokee CountyBuena Vista CountyPocahontas CountyHumboldt CountyWebster CountyGreene CountyGuthrie CountyAudubon CountyShelby CountyHarrison CountyMonona CountyWoodbury CountyPlymouth CountySioux CountyO'Brien CountyClay CountyPalo Alto CountyKossuth CountyIASac.JPG




Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county Family History Library
IAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
Iowa Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.


State Census


Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local histories are available for Sac County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.

  • History of Sac County, Iowa : with biographical sketches of representative citizens and genealogical records of many of the old families. Indianapolis, Ind. : F. F. Bowen & Co., 1914. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.




Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sac County, Iowa Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • Schaller Herald. 1957. Schaller, IA, USA. Online at: ($)
  • Sac Sun. 1955. Sac County, IA, USA. Online at: ($)


Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Sac - Probate records.


Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.


Societies and Libraries

Sac County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 54
Sac City, Iowa 50583

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 225-231. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).