Saginaw County, Michigan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Saginaw County, Michigan)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Michigan Genealogy


Saginaw County


Guide to Saginaw County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Saginaw County, Michigan
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Facts
Founded September 10, 1822
County Seat Saginaw
Courthouse
Address Saginaw County Courthouse
111 S Michigan Ave.
Saginaw, MI 48602
Phone: (517) 790-5251
Saginaw County Website


County Information

Saginaw County, Michigan Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1867 1867 1868 1802 1836 1800?

County Courthouse


County Clerk has birth and marriage records from 1867,
death records from 1868, divorce records from 1886
and court records from 1843.
Probate Court has probate records;
Equalization Department has land records.[2]

History

Parent County

1822--Saginaw County was created 10 September 1822 from St. Clair County and unorganized territory. It was attached to Oakland County prior to organization 9 February 1855. County seat: Saginaw [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Bay  • Clinton  • Genesee  • Gratiot  • Midland  • Shiawassee  • Tuscola County

Saginaw CountyIsabella CountyTuscola CountyHuron CountyShiawassee CountySanilac CountyLapeer CountyOakland CountyEaton CountyLivingston CountyGenesee CountyIngham CountyClinton CountyIonia CountyMontcalm CountyGratiot CountyMidland CountyClare CountyBay CountyArenac CountyGladwin CountyRoscommon CountyMISaginaw.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MIGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MIInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Michigan Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

Court

Emigration and Immigration

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Saginaw County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

Maps

Misaginaw.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Finding More Michigan Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Saginaw County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Michigan, Saginaw and search for Probate records in the list.

Note: Not every county in Michigan will have Probate Records in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

Birth
Marriage
Death

Societies and Libraries

Saginaw County Historical Society
PO Box 390
Saginaw 48607

Saginaw Genealogical Society
505 Janes Ave.
Saginaw 48607
Website

Saginaw Genealogical Society
PO Box 3767
Saginaw, MI 48605-3767
E-mail:saggensoc@gmail.com
Website

Chesaning Genealogical Society
c/o Chesaning Public Library
227 East Broad Street
Chesaning, Michigan 48616-1501

Cass River Genealogical Society
c/o James E. Wickson Memorial Library
359 South Franklin Street
Frankenmuth, Michigan 48734-1529

St. Charles Historical Society and Museum
PO Box 45
249 Saginaw St.
St. Charles, Michigan 48655

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 369-384. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Saginaw County, Michigan page 350, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Saginaw_County,_Michigan_Genealogy&oldid=2758454"