Saint John County, New Brunswick Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
New Brunswick Research Topics
New Brunswick Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
New Brunswick Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
New Brunswick
Saint John County

Guide to Saint John county ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Map of New Brunswick Saint John.png

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History

Saint John County is located in the southeastern part of the Province. In 1786 the Parishes of Portland, The City of Saint John received its charter in 1785. Saint Martins and Lancaster were set up. Simonds was created from Portland in 1839 and Musquash was established from part of Lancaster in 1877. Portland and Lancaster have since become part of the City of Saint John.[1]

Maps and Gazetteers


Populated Places

1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL  CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

Bains Corner         Link   Link
Black River         Link   Link
Carleton            Link
Chance Harbour         Link   Link
Dipper Harbour        Link   Link
Fairfield        Link   Link
Fairville           Link
Gardner Creek         Link   Link
Ketepec         Link   Link
Lancaster         Link   Link
Lancaster Vale          
  Link
Loch Lomond        Link   Link
Musquash           Link   Link
Prince of Wales          Link   Link
Quaco Road        Link   Link 
Randolph           Link
Saint John        Link   Link
Saint John West        Link   Link
Simonds        Link   Link
St. Martins         Link   Link
Tynemouth Creek         Link   Link

Neighboring Counties

Kings County * Albert County * Charlotte County *

Civil Registrations

Birth Records

Marriage Records

Death Records

Census

In Canada, census returns are closed for 92 years after the time of enumeration. Census returns prior to 1851 are rarely complete for any area. Due to boundary changes, census records may be found in Nova Scotia records.

Online Searchable Databases, Books and Images

Year Name of Collection Where Available

1671

Acadian genealogy exchange - v. 5, no. 4 Oct 1976;

FamilySearch Books Online Acadian Families in 1671 begins on page 118
At various libraries (WorldCat)

1708 East Coast of Arcadia 1708 At various libraries (WorldCat)
FamilySearch
1714 Acadian families in 1714 At various libraries (WorldCat)
FamilySearch
1770 Nova Scotia 1770 census Rootsweb
Nova Scotia Archives
Ancestry ($)
FamilySearch
1783 1783 Studholm Report CensusFinder, index.
1785 Cape Ann Association Of Loyalists - 1785 Rootsweb
[Return of Persons who have Lands located to them on Schodiack River above the Glebe, 10 May 1785 Genweb]
1788 Moncton Township Settlers 1788 Rootsweb
1800-1842 Ontario and Nova Scotia Census, 1800-1842 Ancestry ($)
1804 Scotch Emigrants - 1804 Rootsweb
1811-1818 Nova Scotia Census Returns, 1811, 1817 and 1818 Nova Scotia Archives
1827 Nova Scotia Census Returns 1827 Nova Scotia Archives
Ancestry ($)
FamilySearch
WorldCat
1838 Nova Scotia Census Returns 1838 Nova Scotia Archives
1851 Canada Census, 1851 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1861 Census of Canada, 1861 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1871 Census of Canada, 1871 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1871-1901 Jewish residents of the Maritime provinces in the 1871-1901 censuses of Canada FamilySearch
WorldCat
1881 Census of Canada, 1881 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1891 Census of Canada, 1891 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1901 Census of Canada, 1901 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1911 Census of Canada, 1911 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1921 Census of Canada, 1921 Ancestry ($)



Church Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print
List of Cemeteries in the County

Court Records

Wills and Probate

Directories

Immigration Records =

Land Records

Military Records

Newspapers and Obituaries

Taxation Records

Repositories


Websites

References

  1. Saint John County Genealogical Guide, http://archives.gnb.ca/Documents/CountyGuides/StJohn_en-CA.pdf, April 5, 2017.
  2. We Lived, a Genealogical Newsletter of New Brunswick Sources, 1979-1983, Cleadie B. Barnett, Editor & Publisher