Salcott Virley, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Salcott Virley, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Salcott Virley, Essex|
St Mary The Virgin, Salcott-cum-Virley Essex53
|Poor Law Union||Lexden and Winstree|
|Parish registers: 1628; Separate registers exist for Salcot beginning 1813|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1800|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
SALCOTT (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of Lexden and Winstree, the hundred of Winstree, and N. division of Essex, it is 8½ miles (S. S. W.) from Colchester. This parish, is also called Salcott-Verley: the village is situated on the south bank of the Verley channel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Salcott Virley, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|Salcott Virley, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office Salcott St Mary
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241379.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Salcott Virley on GENUKI
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)