Saline County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Saline County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Saline County

Guide to Saline County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Saline County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Saline County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 2, 1835
County Seat Benton
Courthouse
ArkansasSalineCourthouse.jpg
Address Saline County Courthouse
215 North Main Ste 9;
Benton, AR 72015
Phone: 501.303.5630


County Courthouse

Saline County Courthouse
215 North Main Ste 9;
Benton, AR 72015
Phone: 501.303.5630


County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1836 and land records from 1871.[1]

Beginning years for Saline County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1836 1914* 1836 1871 1836
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's


Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

  • 1835--Saline County was created 2 November 1835 from Pulaski and Hempstead Counties.  County seat: Benton [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Perry County  • Pulaski County  • Grant County  • Hot Spring County  • Garland  •

Perry CountySaline CountyGrant CountyJefferson CountyPulaski CountyFaulkner CountyHot Spring CountyYell CountyGarlandClark CountyARSaline.JPG


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Saline County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [4]

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Saline County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Saline County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Court

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1836-1955 Saline County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds 1850-1862; Administration bonds and letters 1870-1904; Administration records index 1862-1870; County Court records 1836-1848; Dockets 1839-1891; Executor records 1862-1951; Guardian bonds and letters 1861-1922; Probate records 1836-1955; Wills 1842-1861.

Genealogy

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Pulaski, Jefferson, Lonoke, Faulkner, Grant, Saline, Perry, Garland, and Hot Spring Counties, Arkansas. Chicago, Nashville, and St. Louis, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1889. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Saline County on page 191.]
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Saline County, Arkansas Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Saline County, Arkansas Genealogy:


- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company C
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company H
- 11th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 18th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[5], Companies A, C, and L

Online Records

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Saline County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Saline County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Saline County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Saline County, Arkansas Genealogy
genealogy.com Saline County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Saline County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 70.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Eddie G. Landreth, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=804&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 15, 2016), “Saline County.”
  5. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.