Saline County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Saline County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Saline County

Saline County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Saline County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 6, 1855
County Seat Wilber
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Saline County Courthouse
215 S. Court Street
P.O. Box 865
Wilber, Nebraska 68465
Phone: 402.821.2374


Saline County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Saline County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1866 1860 1867 1867

County Courthouse

Saline County Courthouse
215 S Court Street; PO Box 865
Wilber, NE 68465
Phone: 402.821.2374

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1976
and land records from 1886.
County Court has marriage records from 1886 and probate records from 1870.
Clerk District Court has divorce and court records from 1886. [1]

History

Parent County

1855--Saline County was created 6 March 1855 as an original county. County seat: Wilber [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [3]

  • Berks
  • Crete
  • De Witt
  • Dorchester
  • Friend
  • Pleasant Hill
  • Shestak
  • Swanton
  • Tobias
  • Western
  • Wilber (county seat)

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

  • Andrew Cemetery
  • Applegate Cemetery
  • Atlanta Cemetery
  • Blue Valley Cemetery
  • Bohemian National Cemetery
  • Cecho Slovansky Cemetery
  • Dorchester Cemetery*Gilbert Cemetery
  • Heart Cemetery
  • Johnson Creek Cemetery
  • Monroe Cemetery
  • North Fork Cemetery
  • Oak Grove Cemetery
  • Old Zion Cemetery
  • Plainview Cemetery
  • Pleasant Hill Cemetery
  • Plummers Branch Cemetery
  • Riverside Cemetery
  • Sacred Heart Cemetery
  • Saint Josephs Cemetery
  • South Fork Cemetery
  • Summit Cemetery
  • Sunny Side Cemetery
  • Swanton Cemetery
  • Tobias Cemetery
  • Union Cemetery
  • Waymire Cemetery
  • Wilber Cemetery
  • Zion Lutheran Cemetery
Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NEGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 39
1870 3,106 7864.1%
1880 14,491 366.5%
1890 20,097 38.7%
1900 18,252 −9.2%
1910 17,866 −2.1%
1920 16,514 −7.6%
1930 16,536 0.1%
1940 15,010 −9.2%
1950 14,046 −6.4%
1960 12,542 −10.7%
1970 12,809 2.1%
1980 13,131 2.5%
1990 12,715 −3.2%
2000 13,843 8.9%
2010 14,200 2.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Saline County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Saline County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nesaline.png

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Saline - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

Saline County Genealogical Society, P.O. Box 24, Crete, NE 68333-0024

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Saline County, Nebraska page 434, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Saline County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saline_County,_Nebraska, accessed 1 August 2016.