Salisbury Cathedral, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Salisbury Cathedral

Guide to Salisbury Cathedral, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Salisbury Cathedral, Wiltshire
Cathedral of Saint Mary Salisbury Wiltshire.png
Cathedral of Saint Mary Salisbury
Type Cathedral
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salisbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Not Applicable
Registration District Salisbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1593
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Sarum; Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Sarum; This cathedral has several associated courts not listed.
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Salisbury Cathedral is the seat of the Diocese of Salisbury. It is located in the county of Wiltshire.

Parish History

SALISBURY, a city,having separate civil jurisdiction, locally in the hundred of Underditch, S. division of Wilts, 82 miles(S. W. by W.) from London. [1]

Resources

Church Records

Salisbury Cathedral registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
SALISBURY CATHEDRAL Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1500s-1800s
JOIN
1570-1812

NBI

1564-1837
NIM 1564-1837
1564-1837
1564-1837
TGEN
1564-1812

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 5-11.Date accessed: 04 February 2014.
  2. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' findmypast, accessed 5 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified. Ambiguously described as 'Salisbury,' may refer to one of the parish churches.
  3. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.